Career

  • Soulez Lariviere & Associés
    since July 2014
  • McGuill and Company Sollicitors
    - 2015
  • Sternberg Reed Sollicitors LLP
    – 2015
  • World Bank Group
    Ethics and Business Conduct – 2012/2013

Training

Affiliations

Thibault KEMPF

Thibault holds a double degree in law and economics as part of which he spent a year at Kalamazoo College in Michigan, USA. After obtaining a postgraduate degree in International Administration from the University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, he joined the World Bank Group in Washington DC in 2012. As a member of its Office of Ethics and Business Conduct’s investigative team, Thibault gained valuable insight into the increasingly stringent ethical obligations imposed on international organisations and helped to improve the procedural safeguards of internal investigations.

In 2014, he interned in London and Dublin alongside two criminal barristers (Kenneth Carr and James MacGuill) specialising in the protection of fundamental rights in highly sensitive cases including international terrorism, international drug-dealing and fraud conspiracies.

Since he joined the firm in 2014, Thibault has built up considerable expertise in white-collar litigation, including corruption, fraud and sanctions cases. He advises and represents companies and executives in cross-border issues and has been involved in negotiating settlements between the SFO, the DOJ and the French Prosecutions services (PNF) since the Convention Judiciaire d’Intérêt Public (CJIP) mechanism was created in 2016.

Thibault has also advised companies in high-profile commercial disputes including one involving a leading car manufacturer facing an ownership structure crisis and another involving a major investment fund’s contentious spinout.

Thibault regularly acts in cases involving extradition and European Arrest Warrants.

As a member of the Paris Bar Association of criminal lawyers, he is a court-appointed lawyer in criminal cases involving matters such as harassment and violence.

Key cases

tk@soulezlariviere.com

Parcours

  • Soulez Lariviere & Associés
    depuis Juillet 2014
  • McGuill and Company Sollicitors
    - 2015
  • Sternberg Reed Sollicitors LLP
    – 2015
  • World Bank Group
    Ethics and Business Conduct – 2012/2013

Formation

Groupes d'appartenances

Thibault KEMPF

Avocat

Diplômé du Master "Administration internationale" de l'Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, Thibault a rejoint le groupe de la Banque mondiale à Washington DC en 2012. En tant que membre de l'équipe d'enquête du Bureau de l'éthique et de la déontologie des affaires de la Banque mondiale (EBC), Thibault a acquis une connaissance approfondie des obligations éthiques de plus en plus strictes imposées aux organisations internationales, et travaillé sur les garanties procédurales de l’enquête interne.

En 2014, Thibault a complété sa formation d’avocat à Londres et à Dublin auprès de deux avocats spécialisés dans la protection des droits fondamentaux dans des affaires très sensibles, notamment de terrorisme, de détournements de fonds publics européens et de trafic international de drogues (Kenneth Carr et James MacGuill).

Depuis qu’il a rejoint le cabinet en 2014, Thibault a acquis une solide expérience aussi bien en conseil qu’en contentieux en matière de droit pénal et de droit pénal des affaires, en particulier dans les affaires de corruption, de sanctions économiques et de fraudes. Il conseille les entreprises et les dirigeants dans les litiges transfrontaliers et a participé à la négociation de règlements coordonnés entre le Department of Justice (DOJ), le Serious Fraud Office (SFO) et le parquet français (PNF) suite à la création de la Convention judiciaire d'intérêt public (CJIP) en 2016.

Thibault est régulièrement sollicité dans le cadre de procédures d’extradition et de mandat d’arrêt européens.

Il accompagne également les entreprises confrontées à des litiges commerciaux complexes, et a par exemple pu à ce titre conseiller un leader de l'industrie automobile confronté à une crise majeure liée à sa structure de propriété ou bien encore un important fonds d'investissement lors d’une scission contentieuse.

En tant que membre du Barreau pénal du Barreau de Paris, il est avocat commis d'office et intervient dans diverses affaires pénales de droit commun, notamment en matière de harcèlement et de violence.

Affaires clés

tk@soulezlariviere.com